A skinny girl’s opinion on Nicki Minaj’s ‘Anaconda’

Funny, isn’t it? How we, as human beings, feel as though we have to be aggressive and hateful towards SOMEONE or SOMETHING at ALL times.

Not only do we shame girls who are even just slightly overweight, but we’ve now figured out a way to shame girls who are underweight as well. P.S. when I use the words overweight underweight, I’m using what doctors deem the healthiest weight for your height and bone structure as the reference point. Those terms only exist in comparison to you. Your overweight can be someone else’s underweight, depending on your body type. Your healthiest weight might be 200 pounds, while someone else’s is 90.

Now, moving on.

Nicki Minaj’s intelligently-written lyrics to the beautiful masterpiece that is Anaconda (and yes, that was sarcasm at about level 900) goes a little something like this…

“I said, ‘Where my fat ass big bitches in the club?’ Fuck the skinny bitches, fuck the skinny bitches in the club. I wanna see all the big fat ass bitches in the motherfucking club, fuck you if you skinny bitches.”

Wow. Thank you for that, Nicki.

No no, as a girl who has attempted all her life to gain weight because she feels awkward, bony, and uncomfortable in half of the things in her closet, hearing those lyrics makes my heart sing.

No no, as a girl who has her own body image problems that just so happen to differ from yours, please continue to yell “fuck you” at me and my weight.

No no, as a girl who has spent hours upon hours trying to think of magical solutions to having a little ass and little boobs, please continue to talk about how his anaconda isn’t gonna want any of this unless I’ve got a “fat ass.”

You can uptalk bigger girls all you want. I’ll do the same. I love thickness. I think a giant ass is awesome. I think giant boobs are awesome. I think curvy hips and thick thighs are sexy as all hell.

But why the fuck do you feel the need to trash on the opposing end of the weight spectrum? Why the fuck do I have to feel attacked in order for you to feel better?

http://www.buzzfeed.com/reggieugwu/24-skinny-girls-who-arent-happy-with-nicki-minaj-right-now#189z3db (Incase you thought I was the only one enraged at this.)

And this is just the newest craze. To hate on girls for being skinny.

“Anorexic.”

“Skin and bones.”

“Twig.”

“Flat bitch.”

“Holocaust victim.”

“Eat a burger.”

Do I love that people are coming together to fight the hate against overweight people? Absolutely. Do I love that people are working towards eliminating bullying towards people who don’t fit society’s idea of beautiful? 1000%. Do I love that people are working towards re-defining the meaning that society has given to the word beautiful? Without a doubt.

Do I love that people are, as a result, turning their hate towards girls who look like me? Towards girls who struggle with their weight differently? Towards girls who spend forever planning special diets loaded with protein because they hate their bodies? No. You know what, I don’t. And I’m about fucking done with it.

News flash to the entire world…

YOU DON’T HAVE TO BEAT DOWN ON ANYONE IN ORDER TO GET YOUR POINT ACROSS.

YOU DON’T HAVE TO HURT SOMEONE IN ORDER TO UPLIFT ANOTHER.

YOU DON’T HAVE TO HATE SKINNY GIRLS TO LOVE THICK GIRLS.

YOU DON’T HAVE TO HATE THICK GIRLS TO LOVE SKINNY GIRLS.

YOUR ASS IS FINE.

SO IS YOURS.

WE ALL FUCKING ROCK. WE’RE ALL FUCKING HOT.

STOP WITH THE HATEFUL WORDS AND DEMEANING LYRICS AND CRUEL NICKNAMES?

AND TO THE FUCKER IN 6TH GRADE AT AMERICAN HERITAGE THAT I’D NEVER MET IN MY LIFE UNTIL THE MOMENT HE TOLD ME WHAT HIS NEW NICKNAME FOR ME WAS, THE ANSWER IS NO. YOU MAY NOT CALL ME POPTART BECAUSE I’M FLAT-CHESTED… & FOR THE RECORD, THAT WASN’T EVEN CLEVER. SO GO FUCK YOURSELF.

It’s insane to me that women will attack one another endlessly because it makes them feel better. That may be the most cliche thing in the world, but it is 1000% true. And it’s hysterical to think that if we all banded together and loved and adored and built each other up, we would run the fucking world. But we’re too busy trying to make ourselves look better to everyone else, because as long as the hateful comments are directed elsewhere, they aren’t directed at us.

5 thoughts on “A skinny girl’s opinion on Nicki Minaj’s ‘Anaconda’

  1. Hi! I’m not the same Angel from above, but it’s just a funny coincidence. 🙂

    Anyway, I was actually doing some research for feminist arguments on Nicki Minaj’s new song, “Anaconda” and came across your website (which is really cute btw!). It was a very entertaining rant for sure, but I just felt compelled to leave you a comment on a misunderstanding I think you seem to have:

    “Nicki Minaj’s intelligently-written lyrics to the beautiful masterpiece that is Anaconda (and yes, that was sarcasm at about level 900) goes a little something like this…

    ‘”I said, ‘Where my fat ass big bitches in the club?’ Fuck the skinny bitches, fuck the skinny bitches in the club. I wanna see all the big fat ass bitches in the motherfucking club, fuck you if you skinny bitches.'”

    Despite your sarcasm, “Anaconda” is actually a very well written piece of feminist work (in my opinion) as Nicki Minaj reverses gender roles by objectifying men in the same way men objectify women and asserts her own sexuality. Besides objectifying men and making a whole bunch of wonderful metaphors and innuendos with her wordplay, she uses the song to establish her “fat ass” as independence, financial stability and freedom from the societal norms that are usually placed on women (Including body image as the song itself is built around Sir Mix-a-Lot’s “Baby Got Back” which is the male perspective on what a female body should aspire to, “Little in the middle, but she got much back”).

    I don’t want to bore you with more information, but, basically, when Nicki says, “…Fuck the skinny bitches in the club. I wanna see all the big fat ass bitches in the… club, fuck you if you skinny bitches.” She isn’t referring to your actual body size. She uses “skinny bitches” as a metaphor to refer to women who don’t have any independence and depend on a man to supply for them. They’re skinny or shrinking themselves to be what is expected of them instead of independently standing on their own away from male desires. “Big fat ass bitches” aren’t women who are larger physically, but women who have more financial stability and assets than the males (and females who depend on those males) around them.

    Of course, you’re more than welcome to disagree, but I hope you take my position on the song as some piece of mind. I just felt bad reading your post since you seemed legitimately upset; I hope my comment at least makes you think a bit more critically about what she is saying!

    🙂

    • I appreciate you taking the time to give me your opinion! 🙂 While I do see what you’re saying, and appreciate your willingness to consider the multiple ways that she could’ve meant this, I must say I do disagree (as i HAVE thought critically about these lyrics, still ending up on the opinion I wrote in the post) only because the song & its accompanying music video provide a very different message than “go powerful women”. When she said “fuck the skinny bitches”, I do believe she was referring to body size. “My anaconda don’t want none unless you’ve got buns, hun” paints a very physical picture (in my opinion, of course) of what men do and don’t like. I do not see this as a brilliant piece of art, especially not feministic. Nicki made multiple blunt statements, including “Say he don’t like em’ boney, he want something he can grab” that were very clear about what she meant in regards to “skinny bitches”. And the music video supported that. There were no physically thin girls in her videos… they were thick. Which, AGAIN, there is nothing wrong with. I think thick women are stunning. But if she wasn’t referring to body size with her lyrics, then why did every woman in her video have a giant ass & thick everything? Nicki is a powerful woman, and I do believe that she considers herself a feminist. But this song really did not strike me as uplifting or brilliant. Thank you again for your comment and fresh perspective! Always nice to have 🙂

  2. Thanks for your rant! I’m multiethnic with African in there so I’m “expected” to have a huge bum. When I was a toddler I got malaria and my parents had to chose the site of where my roughly 100 shots would be administered. The chose my bum, to this day part of it on both cheeks is notably indented. I don’t think I would’ve had big ol ghetto booty, but something def more plump looking. The only fix? Surgery…no thanks. I was kind of suspect about Nicki anyway and usually change her music when it’s on. When I actually heard the full lyrics, I swear I cried a bit. I felt so unattractive even though a lot of people consider me very good looking (well not my mishappen ass I guess lol). Nicki is indeed in a position of power and it was so irresponsible to put this hateful trash out. Angel #2 sorry but your interpretation is rather baffling. Nicki likes controversy and this was another ploy. At the end of the day I chuckle though because I believe her assets have been purchased. I don’t have any probs w/ plastic surgery. But if you went under the knife to feel better about your own body issues, why on earth would you bring that upon someone else? Thanks for letting me rant along!

    • Thanks so much for sharing that with me, Karina. You’re so on point. Keep ranting along with me, I absolutely love it.
      P.S. Guaranteed you have a fabulous ass, with or without indentations. Keep shaking’ it, mama!

Leave a Reply

