I am not a feminist.

It’s so interesting to me how people can place you in a group so quickly, without ever really sitting down with you to discuss in depth what it is you believe and why. They’ve seen you react in key scenarios, and therefore believe they have you all figured out, without daring to ask a single question. So let’s clear something up, shall we?

I am not a feminist.

I am a humanist. I do not defend women, I defend women AND men. I do not defend homosexuals, I defend homosexuals AND heterosexuals. I do not defend blacks, I defend blacks & whites & latinos & indians & europeans. I do not defend unborn babies, I defend unborn babies AND born babies. I do not defend animal rights, I defend animal rights AND human rights.

I do not pick and choose who I defend. Because there is only one category that could accurately describe the people I hold most important in defending.

The underdog.

It JUST SO HAPPENS that more often than not, WOMEN are the underdog in gender disputes.

It JUST SO HAPPENS that more often than not, HOMOSEXUALS are the underdog in sexual orientation disputes.

It JUST SO HAPPENS that more often than not, an African-American or Latino, two examples of minorities in America, are the underdog in racial disputes.

It JUST SO HAPPENS that the only person without a voice is the actual life at stake… and therefore, the unborn child is the underdog.

If a woman hits a man, she is at fault, and she should be arrested.

If a man hits a woman, he is at fault, and he should be arrested.

If a black man/woman kills a white man/woman, he is at fault, and he should be arrested.

if a black man/woman kills a black man/woman, he is at fault, and he should be arrested.

If a white man/woman kills a black man/woman, he is at fault, and he should be arrested.

If a white man/woman kills a white man/woman, he is at fault, and he should be arrested.

If a homosexual or bisexual or heterosexual is being discriminated against in regards to BASIC civil rights, such as the right to marriage, there is a problem. A societal problem. A moral problem. A lack of value. A blunder in government. An err in humanity.

If an individual decides that he or she may kill, may take the life of, may remove existence from the body of an animal for fun, entertainment, or proof of dominion/power, he or she is in the wrong. This is the same reason I despise circuses, zoos, etc. Animals are not here for our pleasure or for our entertainment. If you don’t use a living creature for something useful and necessary, such as food, then it should be left alone… period.

The day that I stop fighting for those who have been let down by the framework of society is the day that I live as just another useless individual on the planet, living for nobody but herself. I have been given an incredible upbringing, brilliant parents, a magnificent education, a multitude of beaming opportunities, and a path of my choice. What I choose to do with that path is simple… I choose not to waste it. I choose to take what I’ve been given, to accept that the only difference between me and a malnourished & pregnant girl my age in Uganda is luck. I have been given a world of my own. And with that, I choose to give back to those who cannot fight for themselves. How I’ll do that? I’m not exactly sure. How I’ll make my mark? No goddamn clue. But I will start by using my voice for those who have lost theirs strictly by circumstance. I will start by speaking up. I will start by writing. I will start by pushing my way through, and figuring it out as I go. Because the world has become an individualistic realm. People have forgotten the necessity of fighting for others as they fight for you. People have forgotten that morals, integrity, and love come before everything else.

Am I speaking as if I believe that the perfect world is possible? Well… to someone whose mind has been diluted by fear and doubt and judgmental skepticism, yes.

However, to someone who has the ability to think critically (a dying characteristic, I might add), they see that it is possible. Why? Because of people who have the vision of a world completely different than the one we live in now. Because of people who are not afraid to go up against the norms of our planet. Because of people who believe change is possible, no matter how difficult and complex it may seem. Because of people who believe that deep down, human beings are good. Not pure, but good. That with the right growth, the right push, the right pull, the right words, the right movement…. the human race can become a pack. A team. A family. A group of people’s whose ideas circle around the same basic center… love … humanity at it’s best.

Are there different ideas of what humanity would look like at it’s best? Absolutely. Which is what makes this so difficult.

So no, dearest friends. I am not only a feminist.

I am much, much more than that.

Leave a Reply

